Leslie Kaminoff

Leslie Kaminoff is a yoga educator inspired by the tradition of T.K.V. Desikachar. He is an internationally recognized specialist with over thirty-four years’ experience in the fields of yoga and breath anatomy. He has led workshops for many leading yoga associations, schools and training programs in America.

In 2001 Leslie founded The Breathing Project, the first New York City studio dedicated to teaching the individualized, breath-centered principles of Yoga in the tradition of Desikachar and Krishnamacharya.

Along with Amy Matthews, he is the co-author of the bestselling book, “Yoga Anatomy.” You can find more of his writing at his blog, e-Sutra.

Leslie has helped to organize international yoga conferences while serving as Vice-President of Unity in Yoga, and actively participated in the ongoing national debate regarding certification standards for yoga teachers.

Learn more about Leslie at his website, www.yogaanatomy.org.

I have known Leslie for 30 years and personally witnessed his ascendance in the Yoga and Health community. Like the late Nathan Pritikin he is a self taught genius and his courses on anatomy and breathing are always the first to fill in academic settings.

Over the last 5 years he has consistently received the highest evaluations possible from the majority of the students in our Yoga Therapy Rx program at Loyola Marymount University. I highly recommend his new internet course for students and teachers alike.

—Larry Payne Ph.D., Co-Founder, International Association of Yoga Therapists

Quite simply put, Leslie’s a true yogi-genius, and a pioneer in his field. He gets right down to the core concepts you absolutely must know to be a truly effective teacher or student of mind/body movement. Leslie couples his immense knowledge with a refreshing ability to translate complex information into real-world terms and give us instantly applicable tools that make the world of anatomy, yoga and breath something we can deeply experience and understand.

I count him as one of my most formative teachers, and each time I leave his classroom, my worldview (and body!) has been shifted in the most powerful ways. Run, don’t walk, to his next session!

—Sadie Nardini, founder of Core Strength Vinyasa Yoga