Leslie Kaminoff

Leslie Kaminoff is a yoga educator inspired by the tradition of T.K.V. Desikachar. He is an internationally recognized specialist with over thirty-four years’ experience in the fields of yoga and breath anatomy. He has led workshops for many leading yoga associations, schools and training programs in America.

In 2001 Leslie founded The Breathing Project, the first New York City studio dedicated to teaching the individualized, breath-centered principles of Yoga in the tradition of Desikachar and Krishnamacharya.

Along with Amy Matthews, he is the co-author of the bestselling book, “Yoga Anatomy.” You can find more of his writing at his blog, e-Sutra.

Leslie has helped to organize international yoga conferences while serving as Vice-President of Unity in Yoga, and actively participated in the ongoing national debate regarding certification standards for yoga teachers.

Learn more about Leslie at his website, www.yogaanatomy.org.

If you’re a yoga teacher, and even if you’re not, L.K.’s class will fundamentally change the way you teach and/or practice yoga. It did for me. Leslie is wonderful at demystifying complex subjects and making them readily accessible– both on an intellectual academic level and on a tangible experiential level. What’s more, he’s refreshingly non-pretentious and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure everyone’s on the same page.

—Suzanne Ausnit, yoga teacher

Thank you for teaching me how to use my arms and shoulders!! The techniques you showed us are truly enlightening in both the mental and physical sense! Wow…the arms don’t actually have to feel like lead? The shoulders don’t have to feel as if they’re bearing the “weight of the world” in arm balances? Amazing!

I’ve practiced headstand several times and am now much more adept at getting into it in the new way. The arms are stabilizing me more (but not feeling overburdened). This week, I was able to separate the hands and lift my head up to scorpion without too much effort.

Thank you for opening these poses to me. It’s a tremendous gift!

—Agnieszka Alboszta, Yoga Teacher